Skip to Content
School of Health and Medical Sciences Logo

Office of the Dean

Dean Brian ShulmanGreetings! Thank you for taking the time to explore the School of Health and Medical Sciences (SHMS) at Seton Hall University, where we teach the art and science of caring in an interprofessional, health-focused context.

Nearly 30 years ago, top administrators from 13 New Jersey Catholic hospitals and medical centers met at Seton Hall University to address medical education within the state. As a result, our School was chartered, combining the University's commitment to enriching the mind, heart and spirit of its students with the mission of educating the healthcare leaders of tomorrow. By September 1989, the first class of 150 medical residents and fellows enrolled in the School's first fully accredited Internal Medicine Residency Program. Today, we not only educate medical residents and fellows at four area hospitals, but also we educate healthcare professionals in our fully accredited graduate health science programs. Read more »

Administration and Staff

Brian B. Shulman, PhD, CCC-SLP, ASHA Fellow, BCS-CL, FASAHP, FNAP
Dean, School of Health and Medical Sciences
brian.shulman@shu.edu
(973) 275-2168
View profile »

Ning (Jackie) Zhang, PhD, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
ning.zhang@shu.edu
(973) 313-6082
View profile »

Patrick McDermott, MA
Assistant Dean for Graduate Enrollment and Student Affairs
patrick.mcdermott@shu.edu
(973) 275-2062

Vasiliki (Betty) Sgouras, MD
Assistant Dean for Interprofessional Education
vasiliki.sgouras@shu.edu
(973) 275-2920
View profile »

Deborah Welling, AuD, CCC-A/FAAA
Assistant Dean for Dual Degree Programs
deborah.welling@shu.edu
(973) 275-2947

Gloria Williams
Executive Assistant to the Dean
gloria.williams@shu.edu
(973) 275-2031

Jaquonda Hutchins
Assistant to the Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
jaquonda.hutchins@shu.edu
(973) 275-2261

Lori Riley, MA
Director of Public Relations, Marketing and Special Events
lori.riley@shu.edu
(973) 313-6077

Niyala Shaw, BFA
Events Coordinator
niyala.shaw@shu.edu
(973) 313-6092

Gerald Ruscingno, PhD
Assistant Director of Advising for Dual Degree Programs
gerald.ruscingno@shu.edu
(973) 275-6457

Kathleen O'Neill
Secretary, Clinical Education
kathleen.oneill@shu.edu
(973) 275-2501

Lauren Smith, BA
Secretary, Clinical Education
lauren.smith1@shu.edu
(973) 275-2057

Department Contacts

Joann Codella
Secretary, Department of Physician Assistant
joann.codella@shu.edu
(973) 275-2596

Joann DeBerto
Secretary, Department of Interprofessional Health Sciences and Health Administration (IHSA)
joann.deberto@shu.edu
(973) 275-2076

Patricia Edwards, M.A.
Program Coordinator, Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA) Program
patricia.edwards@shu.edu
(973) 761-7968

Nancy Gonzalez, B.A.
Secretary, Department of Speech-Language Pathology
nancy.gonzalez1@shu.edu
(973) 275-2825
 

 

 

 

Amber Atkinson
Secretary, Department of Athletic Training
amber.atkinson@shu.edu
(973) 275-2826

Aleatha Joseph, B.A.
Secretary, Department of Physical Therapy
aleatha.joseph@shu.edu
(973) 275-2051

Debra Olszewski, M.A.
Secretary, Department of Occupational Therapy
debra.olszewski@shu.edu
(973) 761-7145
Back to top